
Ohio Department of Job and Family Services 
CERTIFIED CHILD CARE HANDBOOK FOR CARETAKERS 

 
Provider Name 
      
Address 
      
Phone Number (including area code) 
      
Days and Hours of Operation 
      

TO CARETAKERS -  The provider is operating under 5101:2-14, Ohio Administrative Code, they are not employees of 
the CDJFS.  Many of the requirements will need your cooperation, including submitting your child's records (child medical 

signed by the doctor, health information, and emergency transportation authorization) in a timely manner.  Also, written 
permission from you is required for all field trips and routine trips. 

Thank you- The CDJFS Child Care Staff 

Maximum number of children permitted in care 

No more than       children may be present at any one time.             Infants may be cared for at any one time. 

CERTIFICATION  INFORMATION 

● The County Department of Job and Family Services (CDJFS) issues the type B home a certificate which is posted 
 

 ______________________________________________________________ 
● The provider of the type B home is required, under section 2151.421, ORC to report suspicions of child abuse or neglect 
to the county children's protective services agency  ● The caretaker of a child enrolled in the type B home shall be 
permitted unlimited access to the parts of the home used during child care hours.  ● The caretaker shall notify the provider 
that they are on the premises before entering the type B provider's home. ● The type B home provider's certification 
record is available upon request from the CDJFS.  ● The provider agrees that in the performance of services, there shall 
be no discrimination, retaliation or intimidation against any client, child, employee, contractor, or any person acting on 
behalf of a contractor due to race, color, sex, religion, national origin, handicap, age, or ancestry.  The provider will comply 
with all appropriate federal and state laws regarding discrimination and the right to any method of appeal shall be made 
available to all persons. 

ENROLLMENT AND DISENROLLMENT  

Enrollment Process - Prior to enrollment there must be a meeting between the provider and the caretaker to discuss and 
complete the JFS 01634 "Caretaker/Provider Agreement".   The JFS 01297 "Child Enrollment and Health Information" 
must be completed and given to the provider prior to care being provided for your child.  A medical statement, indicating 
that your child has been examined by a health care professional must be signed and submitted within 30 days of the 
child's first day of care. Your child must be examined at least once every 13 months and the medical statement 
completed, until your child enters the grade of kindergarten or above.  Each year, the caretaker of each child must review 
the information on the enrollment form and sign the form again verifying the information is accurate.  Anytime there is a 
change to this information, it should be communicated to the provider immediately to assure that current information is 
always on file for every child. 
Additional Enrollment Information        

Disenrollment/Withdrawal Policy        

Children's Records are confidential and shall only be disclosed to the CDJFS, the provider and to persons to whom the 
caretaker provides written authorization. 
Attendance records shall be maintained by the provider.  The records shall be signed by the caretaker and indicate the 
hours of child care service provided for each child and in a manner prescribed by the CDJFS. 
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PAYMENT 

The caretaker must pay the copayment assigned by the CDJFS in accordance with the schedule indicated on the "Child 
Care Provider Reimbursement Calendar". The provider shall notify the CDJFS within ten days if the caretaker fails to pay 

the copayment for child care services.  The caretaker agrees to pay the provider additional fees, as approved by the 
CDJFS, for special events, field trip costs, late arrival for pick up expenses and absentee days which exceed those 
reimbursed by the CDJFS.  The provider shall provide the caretaker with a written receipt for all payments made. 

THE HOME 

The provider shall provide a safe, healthy environment when children are present.  Any individual whose behavior or 
health may endanger the health, safety or well being of children shall not be present or reside in the type B home or home 

of a child receiving in-home aide services.  Providers certified after September 1, 2008 shall not use any room or space 
higher than the second floor of a home or building for child care.        

THE PROVIDER 

The provider and in-home aide shall complete the "Health and Safety in Family Child Care" course prior to certification.  
The provider and in-home aide shall be currently trained in First Aid and CPR and must complete a six-hour training on 

Child Abuse Recognition and Prevention and a training on Management of Communicable Disease.  After the first year of 
certification a minimum of six hours of inservice training must be completed each year. 

In a situation where the provider is not able to be present for child care due to an emergency, illness, appointment, etc., 
the provider may be replaced by an emergency or substitute caregiver.  This person must be approved ahead of time by 

the CDJFS and meet the rule requirements.  The names of these persons are included on the "Caretaker/Provider 
Agreement."  Caretakers must be notified whenever an emergency or substitute caregiver is used.        

INSURANCE 

This type B home provider will secure insurance against liability arising out of, or in connection with, the operation of the 
type B home.  The insurance shall cover any cause for which the type B home would be liable in the amount of one 

hundred thousand dollars per occurrence and three hundred thousand dollars in the aggregate.   
If this insurance is not maintained by the type B provider, the caretaker of each child must sign a statement 

acknowledging that the type B home provider does not carry liability insurance as described and/or any other owner of the  
home may not provide for liability coverage for the type B provider. 

CHILD GUIDANCE AND MANAGEMENT POLICY 
Specific behavior management techniques which will be used at the type B home are        

MEALS AND SNACKS 
Meals and snacks that will be served by this Type B Home are         
The provider provides the food.  The caretaker provides the food when in-home aide services are provided.  
 
A current menu shall be posted in a conspicuous place readily accessible to caretakers and shall include all meals and 
snacks served by the provider.  Any substitutions shall be noted at the time of the change. 

Times that meals and snacks are served        

Infant food and formula will be provided by       
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EMERGENCY PROCEDURES AND ACCIDENTS 

Emergency transportation for children will be obtained by        
 
The provider shall send the child's "Child Enrollment and Health Information" form with the child who is being transported 
to a source of emergency assistance.  A first aid box shall be on the premises and readily available to the provider but 
shall be kept out of reach of children. 

Actions to be taken by the provider, emergency/substitute caregiver or in-home aide in the event of a general emergency  
      

An incident report will be completed and provided to the caretaker whenever the following occurs with a child:  becomes 
ill or receives an injury that requires first aid, is transported for emergency assistance, receives a bump or blow to the 
head or when the child experiences an unusual or unexpected incident which jeopardizes the safety of a child or provider.  
An incident report must be given to the caretaker on the day of the incident/injury. 

Actions to be taken by the provider, emergency/substitute caregiver or in-home aide in the event of a serious incident, 
injury or illness, including the completion of an incident report        

MANAGEMENT OF ILLNESS 
The home's procedure for administering medication, food supplement or modified diet:  Whether the provider will 
administer medication, food supplements, modified diets or not.  Written permission from the caretaker on the JFS 01644 
"Permission to Administer Medication."  The CDJFS or the provider may require written instructions from a licensed 
physician, physician's assistant, advance practice nurse or dentist. Any limitations        

Caring for an ill child        

The symptoms for a sick child are 
 
- Temperature of at least 100 degrees (axillary/armpit method) when in combination with any other symptoms 
- Diarrhea (3 or more abnormally loose stools within a 24 hour period) 
- Severe Coughing causing child to become red or blue in the face, or to make a whooping sound  
- Difficult or rapid breathing 
- Yellowish skin or eyes 
- Purulent (pus) eye discharge, or eye pain, or eyelid redness or fever 
- Untreated infected skin patches, unusual spots or rashes 
- Unusually dark urine and/or grey or white stool 
- Stiff neck with elevated temperature 
- Evidence of untreated lice, scabies or other parasitic infestations 
- Sore throat or difficulty in swallowing 
- Vomiting more than one time or when accompanied by any other symptom 
 
Upon the child's arrival each day, the provider shall observe each child for signs of communicable illness. 

Parents will be notified when their child has been exposed to a communicable illness by        

Ill children will be isolated        
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SUPERVISION AND SAFETY OF CHILDREN 

The provider is responsible for the child's safety while child care is being provided.  No child shall ever be left 
unsupervised.  When children are inside they shall be within sight or hearing of the provider at all times. 

The provider shall release a child only to the caretaker or to a person who has been previously approved by the caretaker.  
The provider's policy regarding releasing a child to anyone other than the caretaker (including custody agreements) is  
      

The procedure for the safe arrival and departure of children is        

OUTDOOR PLAY 
The Type B Home will provide outdoor play each day in suitable weather for all toddlers, preschoolers and schoolage 
children who are present more than four daylight hours.  This home will limit outdoor play only in case of the following 
weather conditions: We will not go outside to play if the temperature is under        degrees, or over       .  Other 
conditions which would limit our time outside or not allow us to go outside are        
Supervision plan for outdoor play        

TRANSPORTATION 
Written permission must be secured from the caretaker prior to leaving the premises.  The "Child Enrollment and Health 
Information" form will be taken for each child, as well as a complete first aid kit, a working cell phone and health record 
information for any child who may need care.  Children will never be left unsupervised and smoking shall not occur in any 
vehicle while children are present. 

Specific plans for supervision on field trips which explains how all children will be accounted for at all time        

Children be transported in the following manner for field trips or routine trips        

SWIMMING 
Providers with swimming pools, saunas, hot tubs, etc. shall make the sites inaccessible to children.  Written permission 
from the caretaker is needed before any off site water activities occur, in water that is more than two feet deep. 
 
Written permission is needed from the caretaker before children in diapers engage in water play.  This is due to the 
increased risk of communicable illnesses being spread through the diapers and standing water. 

Swimming or water play in more than 2 feet of water will       

NAPPING 
Sleeping arrangements for children        
Length of time for naps        
 
- no child is permitted to rest or nap on the floor 
- rest or nap areas shall be lighted to allow the provider to supervise the children 
- any child who does not fall asleep shall have an opportunity to engage in quiet activities 
- evacuation routes shall not be blocked and the provider shall have a clear path to each resting child 

EVENING CARE (Care anytime between 7:00 pm and 6:00 am) 
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INFANTS AND TODDLERS 
Who will supply diapers, formula, extra clothes, etc.?       
Diapers will be checked every two hours.        
Diaper creams/ointments       

Infants -  Infants will be placed in their crib or playpen for sleeping and shall not be allowed to sleep in bassinets, swings, 
car seats or other equipment.  Infants shall be placed on the backs to sleep unless the child's physician signs the "Sleep 
Position Waiver". 

Daily Record -  The provider will maintain a daily written record for each infant that is given to the infant's caretaker on a 
daily basis.  The report shall include:  food intake, sleeping patterns, times and results of diaper changes, daily activities.  
      

Infant Food -  Infants will be served food appropriate to the developmental needs of each child.  The provider will 
introduce new foods only after consultation with the caretaker.  The caretaker will need to supply written feeding 
instructions for the infant that includes: type and amount of food/formula and times for feedings.  All formula, breast milk or 
prepared food must be labeled with the infant's name and date of preparation. 
      

Toilet Training -        

COMPLAINTS OR CONCERNS 
If the provider or caretaker determines that a conference is needed, the provider shall schedule a conference at a time 
mutually acceptable to discuss the child's progress and needs. 
 
If the caretaker suspects that the provider is not operating according to the child care rule requirements for Ohio, the 
caretaker may contact the local CDJFS to file a complaint.  The number to contact the CDJFS which certifies this home is:  
      

FEES 
      

OTHER 
      

 


